The Alma Foundation is a non profit 501(c)(3) corporation established in 1995 to improve the quality of life for residents in the greater Alma community. Our work focuses on recreation, historic preservation, arts and cultural development, and assisting local residents in need. For the past 25 years, our all-volunteer organization has worked with the Town of Alma to preserve important buildings in our community and develop new parks and recreational opportunities. Alma is the highest incorporated town in North America and has a small population (less than 300). What we lack in size we make up for in community pride. Our small but mighty army of volunteers works tirelessly to host a variety of events each year to raise funds for our projects and bring the community together, even in the depths of winter. Our most popular fundraising event, Festival in the Clouds, a free annual music and art festival, attracts thousands of visitors.

Mission Statement
The Corporation is organized to foster, encourage, and promote charitable, educational, scientific and cultural activities, to support projects which normally would not be provided for by tax dollars, to further the quality of life in the Alma community, to receive any and all contributions and hold, invest, reinvest, manage or devote said monies or other properties so contributed to the uses and purposes herein mentioned, and to dispense, transfer, lease, dedicate or otherwise hypothecate any part of or all of such monies or properties as is deemed appropriate by the Trustees.

No part of the activities of this Corporation shall consist of carrying on propaganda, or otherwise attempting to influence legislation; and the Corporation shall not participate or intervene in any political campaign (including the publishing or distribution of statements) on behalf of any candidate for public office.

2015-2019 Board of Directors + Officers

  • President – Megan Potter
  • Vice President – Andrew Zimmerman
  • Secretary – Samantha Jager
  • Treasurer – Serina Gauss
  • Bonnie Paffenroth – Board Member
  • Nancy Wood – Board Member
  • Amy Majikas – Board Member
  • Dave Aceto – Board Member
  • Jennifer Guszkowski Smith – Board Member
  • Executive Director – Bonnie Paffenroth

Ad Hoc

  • Nancy Comer – Town of Alma Administrator/Liaison/Alma Foundation Parliamentarian
  • Tim Balough – IT